National Marine Science Committee:
who we are and what we do

The National Marine Science Committee (NMSC) was established in 1998 under Australian Oceans Policy and formerly known as the Oceans Policy Science Advisory Group. It is an advisory body that promotes the essential role of high-quality marine science in developing Australia’s blue economy. It also advocates for investment in and support for this key blue-economy driver.

To achieve this, NMSC assists coordination and information-sharing between Australia's research institutions, universities, Commonwealth and state/territory government departments and the broader Australian marine science community.

This community of marine stakeholders come together via the NMSC to provide scientifically robust, user-relevant advice on marine issues of national significance to Australia.

This includes the collaborative development of national scientific strategies that harness the breadth of our members’ sectors, stakeholders and interdisciplinary expertise. It also includes working groups that address the recommendations of the National Marine Science Plan 2015–2025.

Our goals

NMSC aims to ensure that marine science helps to address the grand challenges that Australia faces as a marine nation.

This will be achieved through cutting-edge research integrating social and economic factors. It will be done at the time and space scales required by stakeholders in industry, government and society.

Our structure and meetings

NMSC includes representatives from over 39 member organisations. It is governed by these Terms of Reference.

The Committee is currently chaired (2022–) by Dr Patrick Hone, Managing Director of Fisheries Research and Development Corporation (FRDC), and deputy-chaired by Dr Lyndon Llewellyn (2023­–), Research Manager of the Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS).

The past Chairs:

  • (2021–2022) Toni Moate, Director of CSIRO National Facilities and Collections
  • (2018–2020) Tony Worby, Director of CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere

NMSC meets quarterly. You can read the meeting reports here.

Our ecosystem

The NMSC works within a greater ecosystem of organisations, strategies and initiatives dedicated to healthy oceans and coasts. These include:

NMSC Chair and Deputy

Chair: Dr Patrick Hone, Managing Director, Fisheries Research and Development Corporation

Deputy Chair: Dr Lyndon Llewellyn, Research Manager of the Australian Institute of Marine Science

NMSC secretariat

Stay in the loop

Documents and images

All documents on this site remain the property of the relevant authors. These documents should be cited if used in research or for other purposes.

All images on this website have been contributed by NMSC Members, or are fully licensed through Adobe Stock and Shutterstock.