National Marine Science News & Updates

Welcome to the latest national marine science community quarterly update.

The National Marine Science Committee (NMSC) met in Canberra on 18 October, and the meeting report is now available here.

The fourth, biennial Australian Coastal and Oceans Modelling and Observations (ACOMO) Workshop was held at the Australian Academy of Science in Canberra on 9-11 October 2018.  Australia’s Chief Scientist, Dr Alan Finkel, joined us at the end of the first day and gave a brief address before the poster session.  This provided an opportunity to thank Dr Finkel for his leadership in development of the National Research Infrastructure Roadmap and Research Infrastructure Investment Plan. Many of the great talks given at ACOMO showcased science using national collaborative research infrastructure, including IMOS, high performance computing (NCI and Pawsey) and Bioplatforms Australia. The workshop report for ACOMO 2018 will be available soon and a link will be provided via the IMOS monthly bulletin.

The Department of Home Affairs’ National Civil Maritime Security Strategy seeks to identify civil maritime security related political, environmental, social, technological and economic drivers, challenges and opportunities over a 3-30 year time horizon. As part of ongoing stakeholder engagement, Home Affairs and the ANU National Security College hosted a workshop on 20 September. NMSC Members in attendance included representatives from IMOS and JCU. Issues raised included greater streamlining of government security processes in the maritime domain, biosecurity, changed modes of transport and conditions, increased severity of natural disasters and broader climate change impacts. Further stakeholder engagement will be undertaken by Home Affairs and ANU, and there may be further engagement opportunities for other NMSC members. The National Civil Maritime Security Strategy Team can be contacted at

The oceanography community has mourned the loss of Dr Angus McEwan, who passed away in late September. Angus was the founding Chief of the CSIRO Division of Oceanography, serving in that role between 1981 and 1995. He was an elected fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.
A celebration of his life was held on Saturday 27 October 2018 at Turnbull Funerals in Letitia Street, North Hobart, Tasmania.



Tim Moltmann, Chair

on behalf of the National Marine Science Committee